Heritage

History of Girlguiding Wirral

Wirral County first came into being in 1971 when the county of Cheshire split into the three new guiding counties of Wirral, Cheshire Forest and Cheshire Border.

The County adopted the Wirral Horn as its new logo. It is an important emblem in the history of Wirral. The horn was given to Alan Sylvester, the first Forester of Wirral, in about the year 1130 when Wirral was declared a ‘Forest’.  The Horn of Wirral, indicated tenure by cornage, of the Master-Forester, a form of feudal tenure which required the tenant to blow a horn giving notice of raids by the enemy.

The Wirral Horn has passed through nearly 30 generations, from the historic Wirral family, the Stanleys of Storeton, to the present owner, the Earl of Cromer, whose ancestral seat is in Drayton, Somerset. The Horn features in the Council Coat of Arms and on many badges of clubs and organisations including Girlguiding Wirral’s County Standard.

The Girlguiding Wirral County Standard was dedicated on 4th July 1975.  It represents and reflects in its design, who we are and what we stand for.  

The blue background and Trefoil, traditional to all Guide Standards, show that we belong to the Girlguiding family.  Then follows our County Badge, the Wirral Horn, between two gold bars bearing the Guide Motto and the name of our County. The Ship signifies the fact that shipping has always played a very important part in the life of Wirral and it is interesting to note that each of our Divisions has a piece of coastline.  The Oystercatcher was chosen to signify the importance of our estuaries as Sea Bird Sanctuaries.

For Girlguiding's Centenary year in 2010 Girlguiding Wirral stage a large exhibition showcasing our guiding history. Below are some of the posters from the exhibition.